Applied Math and Meteorology

If you have a question, don't care what it is ~ If you need a hand, We can assure you this ~ We can help

Moderator: S2k Moderators

Future Met
Tropical Wave
Tropical Wave

Applied Math and Meteorology

#1 Postby Future Met » Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:23 am

This is my first post on this website. I can’t believe that it took me this long to discover weather forums! I am looking forward to having many informative weather conversations on this site.

I need some advise for a possible career in atmospheric science. I am currently a senior in college. My major is applied mathematics with a concentration in quantitative modeling, and my minor is physics. After graduating, I plan to get an additional degree in atmospheric science.

I am trying to find out if my applied mathematics degree will be useful in any fields in meteorology. If so, which ones?

Any advice that you can give me regarding my atmospheric science degree would be appreciated. Are there any concentrations that would best fit my educational background? Also, is it possible for me to get into graduate school for meteorology with my math degree? I remember reading that you can apply for grad school for meteorology with certain majors other than meteorology. Is this true?

Thanks in advance for your assistance
0 likes   

Aslkahuna
Professional-Met
Professional-Met

#2 Postby Aslkahuna » Sun Jan 14, 2007 4:55 am

Yes, you can go for an Atmo degree in Grad School with a degree in Math or Physics. The math will initially be an immense help to you in your Met course work as they are very math intensive. If you plan to go into research then you will definitely use the math.

Steve
0 likes   

pojo
Military Member
Military Member

#3 Postby pojo » Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:02 pm

Look into the your campus classes and possible mixes with the MET degree. In most B.S. degrees you will get a minor in Math no matter what... that might be the better option.
0 likes   

JonathanBelles
Professional-Met