Help me settle a lunchroom discussion

If you have a question, don't care what it is ~ If you need a hand, We can assure you this ~ We can help

Moderator: S2k Moderators

KG4HPN
Tropical Depression
Tropical Depression

Help me settle a lunchroom discussion

#1 Postby KG4HPN » Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:07 pm

When can a hurricane be said to have made landfall? Is it when the edge of the eyewall reaches land, or when the center of circulation does? The lunchroom is pretty evenly divided on the issue, and I'm too much of a complete newb to be able to provide the definitive answer they were looking for.

Thanks!
0 likes   

RL3AO
Moderator-Pro Met
Moderator-Pro Met

#2 Postby RL3AO » Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:29 pm

That would be the center of the circulation. So when the center of the eye hits land, its said to have made landfall.
0 likes   

CajunMama
Retired Staff
Retired Staff

#3 Postby CajunMama » Mon Jun 30, 2008 5:09 pm

I was under the assumption that it was when any part of the eye hits land. I've been googling, looking for the answer. I did find a really interesting page for the novices.

FAQ's about hurricanes
0 likes   

AJC3
Admin
Admin

Re: Help me settle a lunchroom discussion

#4 Postby AJC3 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:01 pm

You can find the answer here...

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/aboutgloss.shtml

Landfall:
The intersection of the surface center of a tropical cyclone with a coastline. Because the strongest winds in a tropical cyclone are not located precisely at the center, it is possible for a cyclone's strongest winds to be experienced over land even if landfall does not occur. Similarly, it is possible for a tropical cyclone to make landfall and have its strongest winds remain over the water. Compare direct hit, indirect hit, and strike.

Direct Hit: