Generator Tips

This will be the place to find all your hurricane prep information. Whether it be preparing your home, family, pets or evacuation plans here is where to find the information you need.

Moderator: S2k Moderators

drudd1
S2K Supporter
S2K Supporter

Generator Tips

#1 Postby drudd1 » Tue Sep 28, 2004 9:10 am

Well guys, after what everyone has been through this year, I am sure many more of you own generators. I know mine now has several hundred hours of run time in the last two months, and has become dear to my heart. Being an electrical contractor, I thought I would throw up some generator tips for all, in the hopes that I may touch on an item or two that you were not aware of:

Safety tips:

1) Don’t connect your generator directly to your home unless you know exactly what you are doing. If you do, it is imperative that the cord you connect with is capable of carrying the entire output of your generator. For example, if you have a 5500-watt generator, it is capable of putting out 22.92 amps at 240 volts. Do not use an ordinary extension cord, or one constructed from ordinary cords! You can obtain cable sufficient for this (a minimum of 10awg, at a Home Depot or Lowes, and consult with one of the folks in the electrical department prior to purchasing it.